Incorporating the Variety Artistes' Federation
  1. You are here:
  2. Home
  3. Committees
  4. ICAF


The International Committee for Artists' Freedom (ICAF) was formed in 1978 by Equity.  ICAF was, and continues to be, made up of individuals representing all sectors of the performing arts and entertainment industries who, while offering a diversity of knowledge and experience, share the same commitment – to campaign on behalf of overseas artists facing oppression and emergency aid situations.

Since its inception, ICAF has taken up the causes of artists and groups of artists from many countries all around the world who have faced either censorship, exile, persecution, imprisonment, torture or even death. Each case is assessed individually, impartially and apolitically and all decisions taken are based purely on professional and humanitarian considerations. 

For more information, email ICAF's Secretary, Louise McMullan: lmcmullan@equity.org.uk

Members of ICAF

  • Ros Shelley - Chair
  • Ian Barritt - Vice Chair 
  • Frederick Pyne - Vice Chair
  • Philip Arditti
  • Thomas Baptiste
  • Yvonne Bonnamy
  • Henrietta Branwell
  • Michael Branwell
  • Anna Carteret
  • Chipo Chung
  • Angela Crow
  • Deborah Davies
  • Esther Ruth Elliot
  • Lynn Farleigh
  • Caryl Griffith
  • Edward Halstead
  • Janet Henfrey
  • James Ivens
  • Sara Kestelman
  • Joseph Kloska
  • Adam Knight
  • Peter Kosta
  • Karen Lewis
  • Helen Lindsay
  • Stella Maris
  • William Maxwell
  • Kerry Michael
  • Robert Mill
  • Kristin Milward
  • Rowenna Mortimer
  • Geremy Phillips
  • Sheila Reid
  • Prunella Scales
  • Jessica Sherman
  • Malcolm Sinclair
  • Terry Victor
  • Fiona Whitelaw