Winners of 2020 Clarence Derwent awards announced

Rosalind Eleazar and Luke Thallon are the winners of this year’s prestigious Clarence Derwent awards. 

The awards are highly regarded by the acting community and honour the best supporting male and female performances on a London stage. They are given out by Equity, the performers and creative practitioners' trade union. 

The Clarence Derwent Awards are given annually by Equity for the best individual male and female performances in a supporting role for in work done during 2018 on a London stage.

The UK awards date back to 1948 and have an illustrious history of rewarding some of the most respected names in British theatre – including familiar names such as Sir Ian McKellen, Timothy West and Dame Judi Dench – but also many other actors whose contributions to British theatre is most highly prized by their peers.

Due to Covid restrictions this year, an event is planned to celebrate the awards at a later date (TBA). 

Eleazar, who has won for her performance as Yelena in Uncle Vanya, at The Harold Pinter Theatre, says: "Thank you so much for honouring me with this award. Being in Uncle Vanya was such a special experience and the whole cast and crew were so supportive of one another, so to be the recipient of the 2020 Clarence Derwent award for this work is truly humbling. It has been an incredibly hard time for theatre and our run got cut short due to COVID, but we were lucky enough to be able to film it during lockdown and for it to be broadcasted on the BBC so I’m thankful that people are still able to watch it." 

Thallon has won for his portrayal of Fritz/Leo in Leopoldstadt at Wyndham's Theatre. He says: “Goodness! Leopoldstadt was filled with the kindest, most generous family of people you could ever imagine. Captained by Sonia Friedman and Patrick Marber, two vitally important creatives who have always supported young people and artists to put theatre and their craft first.  It was a complete privilege to have been asked to do it and this makes it all even more special. Thank you.”

As part of the awards, both winners receive £500 and a year's Equity membership, plus a framed certificate.

This year's judges were: Thelma Holt (producer and actor), Susannah Clapp (critic), Matt Trueman (critic), Kate Bassett (dramaturg and critic), Jonathan Munby (director) and the Chair  - Maureen Beattie (actor & Equity President)​.

In addition, we have announced our Young Member and Student Member Bursary winners.
The winners of the 2020 Young Member Bursary are Carys McQueen, a Welsh actor-musician, and Joshua Piper, an actor-singer. The winners of the 2020 Student Member Bursary are Georgina Heriot, who is studying for a BA (Hons) in Drama and Performance at The University of the Highlands and Islands in Inverness, and Alexander McGonagle, studying Acting at The Liverpool Institute of Performing Arts (LIPA).